2012 NCAA Bracketology - 4/15/12

2012 NCAA Bracketology - 4/15/12

New postby humb le on Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:15 pm

As in previous years, this thread will be an attempt to rationally discuss and predict the NCAA tournament selections. I am by no means an expert on this, but I do try to do my due diligence in regards to respecting the criteria and focusing on the numbers. This thread is meant to encourage respectful, thoughtful conversation. All of my projections are based on the criteria explained below:

Prior to the 2009 season, the NCAA adopted the following criteria for determining which teams receive at-large bids:

Primary Criteria for Selecting At-Large Teams

The Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee employs criteria specified in NCAA Bylaws. When selecting teams for possible at-large berths, primary factors considered when reviewing teams' won-loss records and strength of schedule are (not in priority order) as follows:
1. Strength of Schedule Index which is based on the 10 highest-ranking opponents in the ratings percentage index RPI. Two games against the same opponent will count as two contests.
2. Results against teams in descending order, as determined by the "normal RPI [Ratings Percentage Index] rank" used during the selection process, that is, the record against teams ranked 1-5, 6-10, 11-20, and team ranked greater than 20.
3. Average RPI win (average RPI of all wins)
4. Average RPI loss (average RPI of all losses)
5. Head-to-head competition.
6. Results against common opponents.
7. Locations of contests.
8. Significant wins" (wins against teams ranked higher in the RPI)
9. Significant losses" (losses against teams ranked lower in the RPI)

Off of this page(http://www.laxpower.com/update12/binmen/ncaa_d1.php) on Laxpower, you can access and see all of the numbers I am using for my analysis.